Tigers lose by 13 runs | The Daily Star
12:34 AM, February 17, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Tigers lose by 13 runs

Tigers lose by 13 runs

Sri Lanka 180 (40/43 ov)
Bangladesh 167 (39.2/43 ov)
Lankans won by 13 runs

Bangladesh succumed to a shocking 13-run defeat against Sri Lanka in the first match of the three-match one day international (ODI) series at Mirpur in the capital today after reducing the opposition to 67 for 8.

Despite a couple of spirited efforts from Shamsur Rahman and Mominul Haque, the Tigers fell short as Sri Lanka produced one of the most remarkable comebacks in recent times at the Sher-e bangla Stadium.

Lasith Milnga struck in his second ball to remove Bangladesh oprener Anamul Haque for a duck with Angelo Mathews claiming the catch on a rebound at slip.

Mominul Haque, however, calmed the early nerves by hitting a stroke-filled 44 off 53 balls which included seven fours.

He was out caught to Tilkaratne Dilshan off the bowling of Thisara Perera.

Shamsur Rahman anchored the chase brilliantly after Mominul's departure, with a sparkling 62 off just 49 balls.

The Bangladsesh opener struck fivre boundaries and three sixes before a bit of misfortune cost him his wicket.

Shamsur's bat jammed into the ground while attempting a second run with Sangakkara removing the bails swiftly with a Malinga throw from mid-off.

After numerous replays, the third umpire declared him out, causing the batsman to trudge off the ground shaking his head.

Ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan was also the victim of a run-out, as the same duo of fileder Malinga and keeper Sangakkara sent him back to pavillion on 3.

The end came rather quickly for Bangladesh, with the lower order crumbling to Sachitra Senanayeke's spin and Malinga and Mathews' controlled bowling.

Senanayeke dismissed both Nasir Hosasin and Mahmudullah in the same over, before Mathews dismissed Sohag Gazi to derail the Tigers' chase.

With Malinga firing toe-crashers from one end, skipper Mushfiqur Rahim decided to attck Mathews, trying to scoop him down the leg side.

However, Mushfiq's effort was cut short by Kumar Sangakkara who took a diving catch to send the Bangladesh skipper back to the pavillion.

The end was as much shambolic as the latter part of bangladesh innings, as last man Rubel Hossain was run out because of a mix-up with Al-Amin Hossain, sparking wild celebrations among the Lankans.

However, such a scenario seemed unlikely in the first half of the match, with the vistotrs being driven to a sub-par total of 180 by Thisara Perera as he produced a memorable counterattack.

His knock was all the more important for the visitors as Bangladesh bowlers ran through the top order, reducing them to 67 for 8 at one stage in the rain-affected match reduced to 43 overs .

Perera’s unbeaten knock of 80 came off only 57 balls and consisted of four boundaries and six sixes.

He was well supported by Sachintra Senanayake in the ninth wicket partnership, with the latter striking 30 off 48 balls.

The rest of the Lankan batting lineup crumbled against a strong display from the Bangladesh bowlers, as only two of the top eight batsmen – Kusal Perera and Dinesh Chandimal – reached double figures.

Winning the toss, the hosts sent the visitors to bat first.

The first blood was drawn off the Lankans in the last ball of the fourth over.

Tillakaratne Dilshan pulled a short delivery off Rubel Hossian but mistimed , giving a leading edge to midwicket.

For Mushfiqur Rahim, who was not standing behind the wicket due to injury, it was an easy catch.

Rubel struck again in the sixth over removing Kushal Perera.

The Lankan opener wanted to put it away on the leg side but fell leg before.

He scored 20 off 18 balls.

Al-Amin Hossain claimed the vital wicket of Kumar Sangakkara, as the veteran batsman offered a simple catch to Arafat Sunny at mid-off on 8.

Ashan Priyanjan was the next to depart, falling leg before off a Shakib delivery for 6.

Dinesh Chandimal's stay at the crease was ended by a run-out as a mix-up with Angelo Mathews left him stranded at the non-striking end when he was on 13.

Lankan skipper Mathews scored just 3 runs off 15 balls before becoming the first international victim of debutant slow left-arm orthodox spinner Arafat Sunny.

Sunny added one more to his wicket tally soon, sending Nuwan Kulasekara back to the pavillion for a duck.



Mominul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain.


MDKJ Perera, TM Dilshan, KC Sangakkara, LD Chandimal, SMA Priyanjan, AD Mathews, NLTC Perera, KMDN Kulasekara, SMSM Senanayake, SL Malinga, KDK Vithanage.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News