Uncapped Shoriful in 15-member squad | The Daily Star
03:40 PM, April 20, 2021 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:44 PM, April 20, 2021

Uncapped Shoriful in 15-member squad

Bangladesh Cricket Board has today named a 15-member squad for the first Test of the two-match series against Sri Lanka.

The first Test starts at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy at 10:30am Bangladesh time tomorrow, and will be telecast live on GTV and T Sports.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Bangladesh took a 21-member squad to the island nation and played an intra-squad practice match a couple of days ago before trimming the squad for the opening Test.

The squad features four pacers including uncapped Shoriful Islam and two spinners, namely Taijul Islam and Mehedi Hasan Miraz. There was no place for batting all-rounder Shuvagata Hom. 

The pitch in Pallekele is expected to assist pace bowling, with the hosts relying on their more lethal pace battery compared to rather inexperienced spin bowlers.


Mominul Haque (C), Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun. Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Abu Jayed Rahi, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News