Shirin elected unopposed | The Daily Star
12:01 AM, January 28, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Shirin elected unopposed

Shirin elected unopposed

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury
Source: Star
Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury has been elected unopposed from Rangpur-6 constituency as there is no other candidate to contest her.

Farid Ahmed, returning officer of Rangpur, made the declaration during a press briefing today.

Ahmed, also the deputy commissioner of Rangpur, held the briefing at his DC office at Kachari Bazaar in the city around 11:05am, reports our Rangpur correspondent.

Ahmed issued a notification declaring Shirin elected unopposed and has already sent it to the Election Commission (EC) office, Ahmed told reporters.

The constituency was earlier vacated by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

The Rangpur-6 election is scheduled for February 20.

In a meeting this evening, the Parliamentary Party of Awami League nominated Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury as speaker for the 10th Parliament.

In the meeting chaired by Prime MInister Sheikh Hasina, Fazle Rabbi Miah was also nominated as the deputy speaker of the parliament.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News