NCL T20s launch today | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, April 07, 2010 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, April 07, 2010

NCL T20s launch today

Mashrafe up for grabs

The launching ceremony of the National Cricket League's Twenty20 tournament will be held today.
Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) will sign the agreement between them and the six franchises although the Barisal team hasn't yet been sold.
Yesterday, ATN Bangla chairman Mahfuzur Rahman bought the Khulna franchise to make the other southern division the only team left out.
The marketing powers behind the event, ATN Records, and BCB were still looking for a last-minute bidder for the sixth division last night. The organisers will wait till this afternoon to find a taker.
Beximco bought the Dhaka franchise, IFIC acquired Chittagong, NM Group had Rajshahi and Riz Biz Events purchased the Sylhet franchise earlier.
Players were divided into five groups; Grade A+ players will get Tk 4 lakh each and the lowest-ranked, Grade D, getting Tk 1 lakh.
Alok Kapali (Sylhet), Naeem Islam (Rajshahi), Shakib Al Hasan (Khulna), Mohammad Ashraful (Dhaka), Tamim Iqbal (Chittagong) and Shahriar Nafees (Barisal) were named the Icon Players for their respective divisions while Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, also a Grade A+ pick, will be up for grabs.
Nafees, Rokibul Hasan, Nazimuddin and Ziaur Rahman were given to Barisal, Tamim, Aftab Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Faisal Hossain to Chittagong, Ashraful, Mahmudullah Riyad, Jahurul Islam and Mahbubul Alam to Dhaka while Shakib, Abdur Razzak, Imrul Kayes and Dollar Mahmud were given to the Khulna franchise.
Rajshahi will get Naeem, Junaed Siddiqui, Shafiul Islam and Sohrawardi Shuvo as their Icon Players while Kapali, Forhad Reza, Nazmul Hossain and Musharraf Rubel will go to Sylhet.
While the four icon players will play for each division, the rest of the squad will be chosen by the franchises through a lottery that will fully shape the team formation.
The sequence of the teams to choose their respective players will be decided by lottery. The first team decided by drawing lots will make the first pick and the rest will follow in order and the second pick will be done in the reverse fashion.
Thereafter, there will be a lottery again to decide the second round of picking and in the way necessary rounds of drawing lots will complete the affair.
Each team has to pick minimum 14 local players (including the Icon Players) from the players' pool. They can also register the free players (the unpicked players of the players' pool) later on by written application, but after formation of the teams, no player (including Icon Players) will be allowed to changed teams.
The champions will receive Tk 70 lakh while the runners-up team will get Tk 35 lakh while individual performances will also be heavily gifted.
The franchises have also been instructed to keep a five-member team management committee that includes the coach, assistant coach, manager, assistant manager and physiotherapist. BCB have also given a list of 22 coaches for the franchises to choose from.
Shamsur Rahman, Tushar Imran, Nadif Chowdhury, Marshall Ayub, Elias Sunny, Syed Rasel, Nasir Hossain, Mohammad Rafique, Enamul Haque and Arafat Sunny are the Grade A players while another 38 cricketers, including former Bangladesh captain Khaled Mashud were placed in Grade B.
Thirty-five players are in Grade C and another 35 were included in Grade D.
The six-team competition will begin on April 11 and the final will be held on April 20.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News