Voter registration begins in 2 Ctg pourashavas | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, August 24, 2007 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, August 24, 2007

Voter registration begins in 2 Ctg pourashavas

Work on preparing a fresh voter list with photographs and national identity cards began at Raozan and Sitakunda pourashavas yesterday.
Official sources said district election office (DEO) with the cooperation of the army formally started the voter registration process by taking fingerprints and digitised photographs of the eligible voters.
Separate teams of the army with necessary expertise are directly supervising and conducting the work at registration centres already set up in the areas.
Major Mohammad Kamran has been supervising the technical support being provided by the army at Sitakunda while Major Nasiruddin Khan at Raozan.
Terming the response of voters encouraging, the election officials said people are spontaneously coming to the centres for registration with digital photographs.
Sources said 82 field level data collectors and 19 supervisors have been appointed for Sitakunda pourashava and 162 data collectors and 34 supervisors for Raozan pourasabha.
Earlier, the field-level staffs were imparted a three-day training on the task.
On the other hand, 62 data entry operators were appointed for Sitakunda while 85 for Raozan pourashava with adequate number of supervisors to enroll the voters at the centres.
A total of 10 centres have been set up in both Sitakunda and Raozan pourashavas in the first phase and more would be opened later for completing the process smoothly.
Enumerators had distributed voter registration forms to every household in the areas and collected information of 8000 out of total 24,064 (as per old voter list) at Sitakunda and information of approximately 25,000 out of 49,305 voters (as per old voter list) at Raozan till date.
The data collection and registration process will continue up to September 7 at Sitakunda while up to September 14 at Raozan, the officials said.
Additional Deputy Commissioner, Chittagong Mohiuddin Ahmed Khan and UNO of Sitakunda M Akteruzzaman visited the voter registration centres at Sitakunda in the morning.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News