Bangladesh Cricket: Soumya Sarkar opts for DRS after getting bowled
03:57 PM, March 13, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 05:17 PM, March 13, 2017

Soumya Sarkar opts for DRS after getting bowled

Bangladesh left-handed batsman Soumya Sarkar took a DRS after getting bowled by Sri Lanka's Asela Gunaratne on the fifth day of the first Test in Galle.

Soumya Sarkar is one of Bangladesh’s most reliable batsman. But he is not so reliable while taking DRS calls it seems, as he in all probability became the first international cricketer to take review after getting bowled during Bangladesh’s first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle, reports the Hindustan Times.

The astounding incident happened on the second ball of the fifth day with Soumya batting on 53. He failed to judge the line of a delivery from right-arm medium pacer Asela Gunaratne as the ball clipped the top of his off stump.

With Bangladesh chasing a massive target of 457, Soumya’s wicket was crucial.

But what he did after getting bowled was beyond belief - he went for a review! Even commentators were surprised by his decision, as replays showed he was clean bowled.

 

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222


Banglalink:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News

Top