04:07 PM, December 07, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:54 PM, December 07, 2018

Hasina to vie polls from Gopalganj-3, Shirin from Rangpur-6

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will contest the upcoming 11th parliamentary elections from Gopalganj-3 constituency.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader said this while announcing the party’s final list at Sheikh Hasina’s Dhanmondi office in Dhaka today.

“Our party chief Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has decided to run in the election from Goplaganj-3 constituency though she submitted her nomination paper from Rangpur-6,” Quader said.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury also submitted her nomination papers from Rangpur-6 constituency to contest the polls.

“Now Speaker of the Parliament Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will contest from the Rangpur-6 constituency,” Quader said.

Sheikh Hasina decided to run in the election from two constituencies -- Goplaganj-3 and Rangpur-6 and she also submitted her nomination papers to this effect.

Consequently, the prime minister will contest from a lone seat this year. Notably, since the restoration of parliamentary democracy in 1991, she has contested in the parliamentary  elections from multiple constituencies.

The ruling Awami League has finalised 16 single candidate so far.

Among some heavyweight candidates finalised today, Public Administration Minister Syed Ashraful Islam will contest from Kishoreganj-1, former home minister Mohiuddin Khan from Chandpur-1.


The 11th general election will be held on December 30.

As per the polls schedule, the deadline for filing the nomination papers was November 28.

The authorities have fixed December 2 for scrutiny and December 9 the last date for nomination withdrawal.



Leave your comments