Thakurgaon dist AL holds council today after 9 yrs | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, October 16, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Thakurgaon dist AL holds council today after 9 yrs

Thakurgaon dist AL holds council today after 9 yrs

The district unit Awami League is scheduled to hold its council today.

To be held after nine years, General Secretary of AL Central Committee Syed Asraful Islam is likely to attend the council as chief guest while Organising Secretary of central AL Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury MP will be present as main speaker. District unit President Ramesh Chandra Sen will preside over the meeting at the Zila Parishad Auditorium in the town.   

Those who have been invented to attend the programme as special guests include Presidium Member of Awami League Satish Chandra Roy, Joint Secretary Mahbubul Alam Hanif MP, Dr. Dipu Moni MP, Treasurer HM Ashikur Rahman MP, Cultural Secretary and also the Minister of Cultural Affair Ministry Asaduzzaman Nur MP, Religious Affair Secretary Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah.

The council is now talk of the town as local Awami League leaders, activists and also common people are seen discussing the event everywhere, including at tea stalls, different public gatherings and places.

Party sources said, existing president and also lawmaker of Thakurgaon-1 constituency Ramesh Chandra Sen, district unit vice-president and also lawmaker of Thakurgaon-2 constituency Md. Dabirul Islam and former lawmaker and also senior vice-president Emdadul Haque MP have already announced their candidature for president while existing general secretary and also district administrator Sadek Quraishi and district unit organising secretary and also Mayor of Thakurgaon municipality SMA Moin would vie for general secretary post.

All the candidates went door to door to meet the councilors. Each candidate along with their supporters held meetings in every upazila. The existing candidates explained the development works held during their tenure while several contestants vowed to strengthen the party.  

  Thakurgaon Sadar upazila unit president of Awami League Arunangshu Datta Tito told this correspondent that a total of 173 councilors will elect their leadership for the next three years.

Sources said, most of the councilors want to elect a new leadership who would be able to restore the AL's stronghold and image.

The last district council of AL was held on 22 May in 2005.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News