Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal New Committe: Khokon president, Shyamol Secy
11:23 AM, September 19, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:25 PM, September 19, 2019

Khokon, Shyamol new president, gen secy of JCD

Fazlur Rahman Khokon and Iqbal Hosen Shyamol have been elected the president and general secretary of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal respectively.

At the JCD council polls held last night, Fazlur got 186 votes to win the post of president, whereas his closest contestant received 178, JCD sources said.

Iqbal won the post of general secretary with 139 votes, whereas his closest rival got only 78 votes.

Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal, the student body of BNP, held polls for electing its president and general secretary after 27 years in line with a court injunction regarding its council.

The voting began at BNP standing committee member Mirza Abbas’ house around 8:40pm and continued until 12:30am. Several hundred JCD councillors from its 117 units across the country gathered there to vote.

Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and M Ilias Ali were elected president and general secretary of JCD through direct voting in 1992.

The JCD’s last committee was formed on October 14, 2014, with Rajib Ahsan as its president and Akramul Hasan as general secretary, and it was dissolved on June 3.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News