Rangpur made 7th division | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, January 26, 2010 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, January 26, 2010

Rangpur made 7th division

The government has declared Rangpur the nation's seventh division.
The people of Rangpur have long been demanding a separate division in order to encourage development in its impoverished areas.
The decision was announced yesterday by the National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reorganisation (Nicar), which is chaired by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.
The Prime Minister's Press Secretary Abul Kalam Azad said that creating the new division fulfills an election pledge of the Awami League.
The new division comprises eight districts that were formerly under Rajshahi division -- Rangpur, Kurigram, Dinajpur, Lalmonirhat, Gaibandha, Nilphamari, Thakurgaon and Panchagarh.
The total population of Rangpur division is 1, 4847,000.
The press secretary said that the Cabinet decided to create the new division during a meeting on July 13 last year.
A committee was subsequently formed and its report on creating a new division was submitted to the government on July 21.
Nicar has also decided to establish four police stations in the Barisal Metropolitan area.
New stations will be located in Kaunia, Airport, Bandar and Babuganj, and Kotwali police station will be reopened.
Bangladesh's six other administrative divisions are Dhaka, Chittagong, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barisal and Sylhet.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News