Close watch on traffic movement, crime: DMP gets new divisions | The Daily Star
06:53 PM, June 20, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 06:57 PM, June 20, 2020

Close watch on traffic movement, crime: DMP gets new divisions

From now on, Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) will have a close watch on the city's traffic movement and crime detection as the authority increased four new Superintendent of Police (SP) rank officers' posts in the Traffic Department and Detective Branch (DB) respectively.

Earlier the DMP's traffic and DB had four separate divisions -- North, South, East and West -- and a deputy commissioner (SP-rank officer) used to take care of the concerned division's work.

But now, there will be eight SPs in eight divisions of traffic and DB police and the divisions are: Uttara, Motijheel, Wari, Lalbagh, Tejgaon, Ramna, Mirpur and Gulshan, according to officials.

Walid Hossain, deputy commissioner (Media) of DMP, confirmed the creation of new divisions.

"We hope that we will get more effective results as some more police officials will start working in the DB and traffic department," he told The Daily Star today.

Besides eight SP-rank new posts in DB and traffic department, DMP is also getting three more SP rank posts in the counter terrorism and transnational crime unit. DMP also created three new departments -- Supreme and Special Court department, Secretariat department and ICT department and an SP rank officer will monitor activities of these departments.

Along with it, the DMP headquarters has a department named state and development, which the authorities divided into two sections -- state department and development department.

In a major development, the DMP Commissioner Shafiqul Islam yesterday transferred 28 SP-rank officers of the unit and these newly-created divisions and departments are getting officers.

Welcoming the move, Golam Mostofa Rashel, who got appointed as Deputy Commissioner of DB Tejgaon Division, told this newspaper that "we will now be able to give more attention to the area and detect crime promptly."

According to the DMP office order, the seven other officers who got charge in DB police are: Mashiur Rahman as DC Gulshan, HM Azimul Haque as DC Ramna, Manas Kumar Podder as DC Mirpur, Abdul Ahad as DC Wari, Rajib Al Masud as DC Lalbagh, Kazi Shafiqul Alam as DC Uttara and Md Asaduzzaman as DC Motijheel.

The traffic division officers are: Joydeb Chowdhury as DC Ramna, Saiful Hoque as DC Uttara, Shahed Al Masud as DC Tejgaon, Jashim Uddin Molla as DC Mirpur, Rabiul Islam as DC Gulshan, Wahidul Islam as DC Motijheel, Saidul Islam as DC Wari and Mehedi Hasan as DC Lalbagh.

The other officers who got charges are: AFM Mahtab Uddin as DC Supreme Court and Special Court Security Department, Shah Iftekhar Ahmed as DC Wari division, Tariq Bin Rashid as DC CT unit's admin and logistic division, Saiful Islam as DC CT unit's Investigation Department, Mahfuzul Islam as DC Counter Terrorism unit's Transnational Crime division, Abdul Mannan as DC CT unit's Special Action group, Habibun Nabi Anisur Rashid as DC CT unit's research and development department, Sharfiul Islam as DC ICT department, Masum Ahmed as DC crime unit of DMP HQ, Morshed Alam as DC Secretariat Department, AFM Al Kibria as DC CT unit's Cyber Crime division and Mishuk Chakma as DC CT unit's intelligence analysis division.

According to sources, majority of these officials are from BCS 25-batch, who earlier got supernumerary promotion two years back and recently got regular promotion as SP.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News