Candidates of 3 parties belonging to grand alliance to contest | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, January 25, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:16 AM, January 25, 2019

Gaibandha-3 by-Election

Candidates of 3 parties belonging to grand alliance to contest

Candidates of three parities belonging to the grand alliance will compete for the lawmaker post in the Gaibandha-3 (Sadullapur-Palashbari) constituency by-election scheduled for January 27.

Election of Gaibandha-3 constituency was scheduled for December 30 national elections last year, but after the sudden death of Jatiya Oikyafront candidate TIM Fazley Rabbi Chowdhury the election commission (EC) suspended the polls.

The EC on December 23, 2018 rescheduled the polls date for January 27 this year.

The three heavyweight candidates, who are campaigning to draw voters' attention, are Awami League (AL) nominated Younus Ali Sarker, JP (Ershad) nominee Dilara Khandaker Shilpi, also political adviser of party Chariman HM Ershad, and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) candidate Khademul Islam, also former chairman of Sadullapur Upazila Parishad.

Alongside them, two other candidates Mizanur Rahman Titu of National Peoples' Party (NPP) and Independent candidate Abu Zafar Mohammad Zahid are vying for the MP post.

Meanwhile, as per instruction of the party high ups, BNP candidate Moinul Hasan Sadik withdrew his candidacy from the by-polls suspecting widespread vote rigging and harassment of his party leaders and workers.

Since the country's liberation in 1971, AL has grabbed the seat for three times, while BNP twice and JP (Ershad) on six occasions.

AL candidate Younus Ali Sarker, who was elected lawmaker in the last election, is again fighting for the post.

Sadullapur upazila AL General Secretary Shahrier Khan Biplob said leaders and activists of the party are united and supporting their party candidate to win the upcoming polls.

JP nominee Dilara Khandker said she expects an easy win as the constituency is considered a JP stronghold.

According to the district returning officer's office, a total of 4,11,854 voters will cast their votes in 132 polling centres of the constituency, where 132 presiding officers, 786 assistant presiding officers and 1,572 polling officers will perform their duties.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News