50 primary schools flooded in Sunamganj’s Tahirpur | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, July 11, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, July 11, 2019

50 primary schools flooded in Sunamganj’s Tahirpur

Academic activities at 50 government primary schools in Tahirpur upazila of Sunamganj remain suspended as the institutions went under flood waters at least two to three days back.

In addition, water has started to enter in 10 to 11 more primary schools in the upazila. 

Balijuri, Naya Hati, Manjargaon, Balijuri West Para, Barakhala, Patari, Anwarpur, Dakkhinkul, Mahtabpur, Lakkhipur, Gazipur, Patargaon, Sonapur and Pirojpur government primary schools are affected the most by the flooding.

With Tanguar Haor continuing to swell, the flood situation in Tahirpur may not improve soon, said Abu Sayed, assistant education officer of Tahirpur upazila.

Enamul Haque, headteacher of Naya Hati Government Primary School, said operations of the school came to a halt as flood waters have been entering the school building.

Though still open officially, they stopped holding classes in the waterlogged building, he added.

Torrential rain over the last two days has caused the floods and two kilometres of Sunamganj-Tahirpur road is also inundated with flood waters, said Tahirpur Upazila Parishad Chairman Karuna Sindu Chowdhury.  

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News