Budget session begins at parliament | The Daily Star
11:46 AM, June 05, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:16 PM, June 05, 2018

Parliament enters into budget session

The last budget Session of the 10th Parliament that began today will continue till July 12.

The decision came at the meeting of the Business Advisory Committee of Parliament held at Jatiya Sangsad with Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair.

The Speaker will be able to extend or reduce the duration of the session.

During the Holy Ramadan, the sitting of the session will start at 10:30am while it will resume its business at 3:00pm every day after Ramadan.

The current session of parliament will be the fifth budget session of the 10th parliament.

It is the last national budget of the current government as the next parliamentary elections is scheduled to be held in December.

Finance Minister AM Muhith is going to place Tk 468,200-crore budget at 12:30pm on Thursday for the 2018-2019 fiscal.

Muhith is going to set a rare example by placing the 10th consecutive budget of the current government. However, this will be his 12th budget so far as he placed two more budgets during the regime of HM Ershad in the 1980s.

According to the BAC meeting, the supplementary budget will be passed on June 11 after discussions on June 10 and 11.

The Finance Bill will be passed on June 27 while the budget for the 2018-19 fiscal will be passed on June 28.

At the beginning of the BAC meeting, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was greeted for successfully launching the Bangabandhu-1 Satellite and achieving DLit by Kabi Nazrul University, Asansol.

The House today unanimously adopted obituary motion on a number of distinguished personalities, including a sitting MP, two former ministers, an ex-state minister, a former whip and four other former MPs.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury moved the obituary motion separately with brief resumes on those who died since prorogation of the 20th session of the 10th parliament.

The Speaker while moving the references said the House expresses its deep shock at the death of AKM Mayeedul Islam, a Jatiya Party MP and also a former minister who died on May 10.

The House also expressed deep shock at the demise of former cabinet members M Shamsul Islam and Mahmudur Rahman, former state minister ABM Shahjahan, former whip of parliament Syed Wahidul Alam, formers MPs Dr Mohammad Shahab Uddin, Khandkar Muhammad Khurram, Begum Amina Bari, Chaman Ara Begum and assistant librarian of the Jatiya Sangsad Secretariat M Iqbal.

Participating in the discussion on Mayeedul Islam, Opposition Leader Raushan Ershad expressed deep shock at his death and conveyed deep sympathy to the members of the bereaved family.

Besides, members from treasury and opposition benches including finance minister AMA Muhith, commerce minister Tofail Ahmed, shipping minister Shajahan Khan, among others, took part in the discussion.

As a mark of respect to the death of the sitting MP Mayeedul Islam, after adoption of the obituary motion and munajat, the speaker adjourned the sitting of the house at 12:51pm noon to resume it again tomorrow at 10:30am.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News