Pro-AL teachers sweep CUTA election | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, March 29, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:37 AM, March 29, 2019

Pro-AL teachers sweep CUTA election

The "yellow panel", backed by ruling Awami League and left-leaning parties, bagged all the posts of the new executive committee of Chittagong University Teachers' Association (CUTA) yesterday, defeating its rival panel, backed by BNP.

The election to CUTA's 11-member committee was held at Social Sciences Faculty auditorium of CU from 9am to 1:30pm.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Yellow panel candidate Prof Zakir Hossain of law department was elected president, said Chief Election Commissioner Prof MA Gafur.

Last year, BNP and Jamaat panel teachers took part in the election with separate panels, but this year Jamaat did not participate in the election.

Prof Anjan Kumar Chowdhury of Prof Jamal Nazrul Islam Math and Physical Science Research Centre was elected general secretary.

Prof Shahid Ullah of communication and journalism, Associate Prof Mohammad Ali Arshad Chowdhury of accounting and information systems and Associate Prof Mohammad Saidul Islam of biochemistry and molecular biology were elected vice-president, treasurer and joint secretary respectively.

The other six executive members are—Prof Abul Hossain; Associate Prof Iqbal Ahmed; Assistant Prof Sultana Shukarna Bashar; Assistant Prof Mazharul Islam; Prof Bakul Chandra Chakma; and Prof Ranjit Kumar Chowdhury.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News