Abu Rushd Literary Award introduced | The Daily Star
09:07 PM, April 20, 2021 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:12 PM, April 20, 2021

Abu Rushd Literary Award introduced

In memory of eminent writer, scholar, academic, diplomat, and freedom fighter Professor Abu Rushd Matinuddin (1919-2010), the Abu Rushd Memorial Committee has decided to introduce the Abu Rushd Literary Award from this year. Any novel published in Bangladesh in the last three years will be considered for this year's award. The winner will receive one lakh taka and a certificate of recognition.

Writer and academic Professor Serajul Islam Chowdhury will chair the advisory board of Abu Rushd Memorial Committee. The other members of the board include Selina Hossain, Sara Zaker, Khushi Kabir, M Saiduzzaman, Major General (Rtd) FR Mamun, Professor Abdullah Abu Sayeed, Abu Kamal, Shaheen Rushd and Dr Syed Sadrul Huda.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

The late Abu Rushd was known for his contribution to Bangla literature and translation, and for the representation of the politics and society of pre-Partition India before he went on to generate mass opinion in favour of the Liberation War of Bangladesh. Among his notable books are Elomelo, Biyog Baytha, Shamne Notun Din, Nongar, Anishchito Kahini and Sthagito Dwip—an oeuvre that won him the Ekushey Padak, the Bangla Academy Award, the Adamjee Award, and the Sher-e-Bangla Gold Medal, among others.

The Memorial Committee board, in a recent meeting, also decided to publish a memoir on the author's illustrious life.

For more book-related news, follow Daily Star Books on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and LinkedIn.



Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News