Three teams inserted into C'ship League | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, September 11, 2016 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:39 PM, September 11, 2016

Three teams inserted into C'ship League

The Bangladesh Football Federation approved three new teams – Chittagong Mohammedan SC, Karwan Bazar Pragati Sangha and Saif Sporting Club – to participate in the Championship League which will kick off in October. The decision was disclosed after an emergency meeting of the executive committee of the federation yesterday.

The inclusion of these three teams will make the league an eight-team affair just like the last edition, with Victoria SC, Motijheel T&T Club, Youngmen's Fakirerpool Club, Agrani Bank Sports Club and Police Football Club being the other participating teams.

“We have approved these three teams after receiving a total of 12 applications. The financial solvency and club infrastructure was taken into consideration when reviewing the applications,” revealed Kazi Nabil Ahmed, vice president of the BFF, at the press conference which was chaired by the BFF president Kazi Salahuddin.

However, Nabil informed that the applications of two other teams -- Shuktara Juba Sangha and Cox City FC – are still being considered, and that whether they will be allowed to take part will only be decided by the professional league committee after further deliberation.

Kawran Bazar Pragati Sangha plied their trade in the first division last year while Chittagong Mohammedan SC last played in the Bangladesh Premier League in 2010. Saif Sporting Club, which is owned by Saif Global Sports, are a completely new outfit.

“The transfers for the Championship league will be held from September 18 to 30. The league will likely kick off from October 10 at the Birshreshtha Shaheed Mostafa Kamal Stadium in Kamalapur and the league will be on double-legged basis,” Nabil added.

Last year a total of eight teams participated in the league, with champions Uttar Baridhara Club and runners-up Arambagh Krira Sangha being promoted to the top tier whilst bottom-place finishers, Wari Club, were relegated to the first division.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News