Cricket: Aussie 1987 WC heroes awarded
12:00 AM, January 23, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:21 PM, January 23, 2017

Aussie 1987 WC heroes awarded

The first Australia squad to win the World Cup in 1987 were presented with medals during the innings break at the fourth one-day international against Pakistan in Sydney on Sunday.

The side, captained by Allan Border and coached by Bob Simpson, beat England by seven runs in a tense final in Kolkata. Australia have since won four more World Cups.

The International Cricket Council last year decided to award medals to players and support staff of all World Cup-winning squads who did not receive them at the time of their successes.

The West Indies team from 1975 and Sri Lanka from 1996 will also receive medals. 

Related Topics

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News