Gayle force blows away Chittagong | The Daily Star
06:43 PM, December 09, 2015 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:57 PM, December 09, 2015

Bangladesh Premier League, 28th Match

Gayle force blows away Chittagong

Chris Gayle showed today why he is considered the most destructive batsmen in T20 when he took his team Barisal Bulls to an easy win over the hapless Chittagong Vikings.

Gayle was unbeaten on 92 when he finished the match with a six of Mendis. The West Indian batter smashed 26 runs from the Mendis over, and Barisal won with 30 balls in the bag.



Barisal Bulls v Chittagong Vikings
Barisal: 141/2 (15.0/20 over)
Chittagong: 135/7 (20/20 over)



Barisal’s opener faced only 47 balls, and hammered six fours and nine sixes to the delight of Bulls fans at Mirpur.

His one-handed six over mid-wicket of a slower ball from Bilawal Bhatti was the highlight of his batting tonight.

Mahmudullah was not out with 19 runs to his name and must be pleased with his team’s performance in this match.

For Chittagong, Taskin Ahmed picked the lone wicket to fall. On a night when Gayle is in control, Chittagong bowlers were made to look ordinary.

Taskin Ahmed of Chittagong struck in his first over and sent back Barisal’s Mehidi Maruf for 18 runs.

Maruf tried to pull a not-so-short ball, and chopped the ball onto his stumps. His departure lifted the spirits of Chittagong players, but they must be wary of Gayle.

Chris Gayle took his time early, and slowly got into his groove with a 19-run over of Asif Ahmed.

Barisal lost their first wicket, that of Rony Talukdar in the fifth ball of their chase. Chris Gayle scampered for a quick single which was not on.

Dilshan on his follow-through picked up the ball, threw at the stumps, the keeper flicked the bail and Rony was miles out of the crease.

Earlier, Mohammad Sami picked up his second wicket with the last ball when he had Chittagong batter Asif Ahmed caught behind for 17.

Asif’s 17 from 14 balls gave his team some much needed runs in the death overs.

Naeem Islam’s innings lasted only nine balls, and produced only four runs. Kevin Cooper sent him back to the pavilion to hammer the sixth nail on Chittagong’s coffin.

Umar Akmal socred 25 useful runs from 30 balls, and allowed his side to reach a respectable total in the end.

Barisal’s captain Mahmudullah gave his team the upper hand when he sent back Chittagong’s Jeevan Mendis for three runs in the 13th over.

Mendis was trapped in front and the umpire didn’t hesitate to raise his finger.

Kevin Cooper sent Chittagong’s innings reeling in the tenth over by dismissing Yasir Ali. Copper offered width, Yasir obliged and played an uppish shot straight into the hands of Sabbir at point.

Yasir couldn’t score more than 11 runs during his 17-minute stay at the crease.

Sohag Gazi gave Barisal an important breakthrough in the seventh over when he sent back Anamul Haque with a quicker ball.

Anamul tried to cut but the ball crashed onto his stumps. His 28-run knock came from 18 balls and was thoroughly pleasing to the eye.

After giving his side a blistering start, Dilshan fell in the sixth over when he played one big shot too many. The Sri Lankan batter had already bashed Al-Amin for two consecutive six, and didn’t really need to go for the big shot again.

Al-Amin length ball on off was too close to cut, and Dilshan only managed to get an edge behind to the wicketkeeper. Vikings opener scored 28 from 22 balls with two fours and two sixes punctuating his knock.

Chittagong openers Dilshan and Anamul wasted no time when they came out to bat. They were severe on anything short, and treated the Vikings fans to a flurry of boundaries.

Vikings’ total crossed fifty even before the sixth over was completed.

Barisal Bulls skipper Mahmudullah called it correctly when the coin was tossed and chose to field first against under-performing Chittagong Vikings under the lights at Mirpur.

Barisal are third in the table, and need the points today to ensure their qualification to the knock-out stage before net run-rate kicks in.

The Bulls are on a two game losing streak after the nine-wicket thrashing at the hands of Sylhet on December 6 and then a seven-wicket defeat on December 7 against Comilla.

Mahmudullah would like to see the big-name players, especially the likes of Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis to come to party and entertain the Mirpur crowd with their attractive stroke-play.

For the Vikings, they will be playing for pride, and can sign off this year’s BPL on a high with a victory. However, they need their foreign recruits as well as the local talents to perform.

Barisal Bulls

Al-Amin Hossain, KK Cooper, N Dutta, RR Emrit, CH Gayle, E Lewis, Mahmudullah (Captain), Mehedi Maruf, Mohammad Sami, Nadif Chowdhury, S Prasanna, Rony Talukdar (Wicketkeeper), Sabbir Rahman, Sajedul Islam, Shahriar Nafees, Sharifullah, Taijul Islam and BRM Taylor

Chittagong Vikings

Anamul Haque (Wicketkeeper), Asif Ahmed, Asif Hasan, Bilawal Bhatti, E Chigumbura, TM Dilshan, Elias Sunny, Enamul Haque jnr, CK Kapugedera, BMAJ Mendis, Mohammad Amir, Naeem Islam, Shafiul Islam, Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Taskin Ahmed, Umar Akmal, Yasir Ali and  Ziaur Rahman

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News