AL men continue to agitate in Rangpur | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, November 30, 2008 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, November 30, 2008

Election 2008Discontent Over Nomination

AL men continue to agitate in Rangpur

Awami League men in Rangpur are still continuing movement demanding nomination for former MP Sharfuddin Ahmed Jhontu in Rangpur-1, former BGMEA president Tipu Munsi in Rangpur-4 and former state minister HN Ashiqur Rahman besides AL president Sheikh Hasina in Rangpur-6 constituency.
At least four thousand supporters, leaders and activists of AL held a human chain yesterday (Saturday) in Pirgachha demanding nomination for Tipu Munsi in Rangpur-4 constituency.
Again AL supporters of Mithapukur upazila unit held human chain programme with at least three thousand people on Rangpur-Bogra highway Wednesday demanding grand alliance nomination for former minister Ashiqur Rahman in Rangpur-5 constituency.
Awami League of Gangachara rejected Ershad's nephew Asif Shariar and demanded AL presidium member and former MP Sharfuddin Ahmed Jhontu as grand alliance candidate in Rangpur-1 seat.
The AL leaders of Gangachara wanted to cash in on sentiment of the common people and leaders and activists of JP against Ershad's decision to nominate Asif in Rangpur-1 constituency.
On the other hand, AL leaders and activists of Mithapukur upazila wanted to cash in on huge development by Ashiqur Rahman in the constituency during 1996 to 2001.
Jatiya Party leaders of Gangachara (Rangpur-1) told Ershad that this time they would not compromise in regard to nonresident (outsider) JP candidate in the constituency.
JP president of Gangachara upazila unit Motiur Rahman told this correspondent, “We would nominate independent candidate collectively if Ershad does not change his mind.”
A number of JP leaders of Gangachara on condition of anonymity said that they would even accept AL leader Jhontu but would not accept Asif Shariar in Rangpur-1 constituency.
The then JP leader Sharfuddin Ahmed Jhontu was elected MP in this constituency in the 1996 election. Before the 2001 election he joined AL and was defeated by JP candidate Moshiur Rahman Ranga.
On the other hand Ashiqur Rahman was elected MP in Rangpur-5 constituency in 1996 in the by-election. Later he was made a state minister.
Tipu Munsi was defeated by JP candidate Karim Uddin Bharsa in Rangpur-4 constituency in the 2001 election.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News