Mymensingh becomes 12th city corporation of Bangladesh | Daily Star
05:20 PM, April 02, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 06:06 PM, April 02, 2018

Mymensingh becomes city corporation

English spellings of 5 districts changed

Bangladesh government today recognised Mymensingh as the country’s twelfth city corporation.

The recognition came at a meeting of National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reform (Nicar), at Prime Minister’s Office, with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Mymensingh City Corporation will have an area of 91.35 square kilometres with a population of 4,18,058.

Ziaul Alam, secretary, coordination and reforms, under the cabinet division, declared the changes brought at a press briefing held at Bangladesh Secretariat this afternoon.

Back in September 2015, Mymensingh became the country’s eighth division with the divisions of Jamalpur, Sherpur, Netrakona and Mymensingh.


English spellings of five districts of the country have been changed today, for what is being said “a change that synchronises the English spelling with the Bangla names”.

The spellings of Chittagong, Comilla, Barisal, Jessore and Bogra have been changed as Chattogram, Cumilla, Barishal, Jashore and Bogura.

Meanwhile, today’s cabinet meeting declared March 1 as National Voter Day.

The day will spread the message of a voter’s right and awareness about democracy.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News