Bangladesh Cricket: Khelaghar thump Partex by 77 runs
01:28 PM, April 21, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 05:25 PM, April 21, 2017

Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League

Khelaghar thump Partex by 77 runs

Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity v Partex Sporting Club

Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity defeated Partex Sporting Club by 77 runs during the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League match at BKSP’s No. 4 ground today.

Chasing 289 for victory, Partex enjoyed a steady start but lost wickets in regular intervals in their faltering innings. From 1-70 after 14 overs, Partex were struggling at 5-120 after 24 and were out of the contest. They were all out for 211 in 45.1 overs.

Jubair Ahmed top-scored for Partex with 44 from 63 balls. For Khelaghar, Sadiqur Rahman, Tanvir Islam and Ariful Islam took three wickets each.

Earlier, Amit Majumder smashed 101 from 85 balls while Nazmus Sadat plundered 79 runs to propel Khelaghar to 288 for 8 after 50 overs.

Partex Sporting Club captain Jubair Ahmed won the toss and asked Khelaghar to bat first. When it looked like Khelaghar would have to settle for a below-par total after Nazimuddin departed in the 31st over with his team at 4-128, the fifth wicket partnership of 133 runs in 15.2 overs extended the game at a rapid pace and took Khelaghar to 288 in the end.

Amit’ 101 contained nine fours and three sixes. Nazmus faced 51 balls for his 79, and he struck two fours and six sixes in his late-innings cameo.

For Partex Sporting Club, Jubair Ahmed was the highest wicket-taker with 3-69 in 10 overs. Mamun Hossain and Nuruzzaman Masum took two wickets each.


Khelaghar: 288/8 in 50 overs

Partex Sporting Club: 211 all out in 45.1 overs

(Amit 101, Nazmus 79, Jubair 3-69)

Result: Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity win by 77 runs

Kalabagan Krira Chakra v Victoria Sporting Club

Kalabagan Krira Chakra came out in front by 10 runs against Victoria Sporting Club at BKSP’s No. 3 ground today.

Victoria were rocked early in their chase of 260, and were tottering at 5-108 after 29 overs. However, their sixth wicket partnership of 109 runs in 17 overs allowed Victoria to come close to the target. Shafiul Hayet’s 64 and Moinul Islam’s 75 from 57 kept Victoria in the contest. Moinul’s belligerent knock contained three fours and as many sixes.

Kalabagan’s Abul Hasan, Muktar Ali and Hamilton Masakadza took two wickets each to stall Victoria’s progress.

Earlier, fifties from Mehrab Hossain jnr, Tushar Imran and Muktar Ali helped Kalabagan Krira Chakra to post 259 for 6 after 50 overs.

Victoria captain Monir Hossain opted to field first, and his bowlers had Kalabagan in a spot of bother at 2-36 after 14 overs. Kalabagan’s middle order fought back and the third wicket stand of 96 in 19 overs followed by the 57-run partnership in 10.2 overs kept the Victoria bowlers at bay. 44 runs in 4.4 overs for the fifth wicket provided the late impetus to Kalabagan’s innings.

Mehrab made 63 from 108 balls, Tushar Imran 56 from 86 while Muktar Ali’s cameo of 52 in 27 balls contained two fours and four massive sixes. Monir Hossain of Victoria captured 2-46 in 10 overs.


Kalabagan Krira Chakra: 259/6 in 50 overs

Victoria Sporting Club: 249/9 in 50.0 overs

(Mehrab 63, Tushar 56, Monir 2-46)

Result: Kalabagan Krira Chakra win by 10 runs

Mohammedan Sporting Club v Prime Bank Cricket

Prime Bank Cricket Club overwhelmed Mohammedan Sporting Club by seven wickets with 80 balls remaining under the D/L method during the Dhaka Premier League match at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Fatullah today.

After Mohammedan were all out for 142 in 36.1 overs, Prime Bank rode on Sabbir Rahman as his unbeaten knock of 78 from 75 balls took his team home quite comfortably in the end. Taibur Rahman gave Sabbir good support with his 42.

Taijul Islam, Subashis Roy and Enamul Haque jnr managed to pick up a wicket each for Mohammedan.

Earlier, the match was reduced to 41 overs after a rain delay at Fatullah. Mohammedan were asked to bat first by Prime Bank captain Mehedi Maruf. Tamim Iqbal held the Mohammedan innings together with his 46.


Mohammedan Sporting Club: 142 all out in (36.1/41 overs)

Prime Bank Cricket Club: 150/3 (27.4/41 overs, target 149)

(Sabbir 78*, Tamim 46, Al-Amin 5-25)

Result: Prime Bank Cricket Club win by 7 wickets

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News