Shamsur Rahman | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, February 24, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, February 24, 2017

Shamsur Rahman

(23rd October 1929 – 17th August 2006)

Shamsur Rahman was a Bangladeshi poet, columnist and journalist. Rahman, who emerged in the latter half of the 20th century, wrote more than sixty books of poetry and is considered a key figure in Bengali literature. He was regarded as the unofficial poet laureate of Bangladesh. Major themes in his poetry and writings include humanism, relationships, romanticised rebellion of the youth, the emergence of and consequent events in Bangladesh, and opposition to religious fundamentalism. He wrote most of his poems in free verse, often with the rhythm style known as 'Poyaar' or 'Akhshorbritto'. He also wrote poems in two other major patterns of Bengali rhythmic style, namely, 'Matrabritto' and “Shwarobritto”. Rahman also had a long career as a journalist, and served as the editor of Dainik Bangla and the weekly Bichitra in the 1980s.


Prothom Gan Ditio Mrittur Age (1960)

Roudro Korotite (1963)

Biddhosto Nilima (1967)

Niralokay Dibboroth (1968)

Neej Bashbhumay (1970)

Bondi Shibir Theke (1972)


Tableay Applegulo Heshe Othay (1986)

Shopnera Dukray Othay Barbar (1987)

Khub Beshi Valo Thakte Nei (1987)

Moncher Majhkhanay (1988)

Buk Tar Bangladesher Hridoy (1988)

Matal Hrittik

Hridoy Amar Prithibir Alo (1989)

Shay Ak Porobashay(1990)

Grihojudder Agae(1990)

Khondito Gourob(1992)

Dhongsher Kinare Bashay(1992)

Akash Ashbe Neme(1994)

Uzar Baganay(1995)

Asho Kokil Asho Shornochapa

Manob Hridoy Naibeddo Shajai

Hemonto Shondhay Kichukal(1997)

Chayagoner Shonge Kichukkhon

Meghlokay Monoz(1998)

Shoundorjo Amar Ghore(1998)

Ruper Probale Dogdho Shondha(1998)

Tukro Kichu Shonglaper Shako(1998)

Shopno O Dushshopnay Bachay Achi(1999)

Krishnopokkhay Purnimar Dikay(2004)

Gorostanay Kokiler Korun Aaobhan(2005)

Andhokar Theke Aloy(2006)

Na Bastob Na Dushshopno(2006)


Shamsur Rahmaner Golpo



Adbhut Adhar Ak(1985)

Niyoto Montaz(1985)

Elo Je Abelay(1994)


Alating Belating(1974)

Dhan Bhanle Kuro Debo(1977)

Lal Fulkir Chora(1995)

Noyonar Jonno(1997)

Amer Kuri Jamer Kuri(2004)


Kaaler Dhuloy Lekha

Smritir Shohor


Akanto Bhaban

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News