Eng to name squads sans Hales, Morgan

England players celebrate the fall of a wicket during ICC WT20 2016 in India. File Photo: AFP

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) will name their squads for England's Test and ODI tour of Bangladesh on October today after the withdrawals of ODI captain Eoin Morgan and Test and ODI opener Alex Hales on Sunday.

England look set to announce a 17-man squad for the two-Test series, plus a 15-man squad for the three-match ODI series in Bangladesh. 

Hales and Morgan refused to tour because of the security fears engendered by the July terror attack on a Gulshan cafe which claimed the lives of 20 hostages. A security inspection of Bangladesh by the ECB in August led to the tour being given the go-ahead.

By refusing to tour Bangladesh, the 31-year-old Morgan has become the first England captain to pull out of a series for security reasons. Jos Buttler, the Lancashire wicketkeeper-batsman, will captain the one-day side in Morgan's absence.

"As with all England overseas tours, the safety and security of players and staff is of the utmost importance to ECB," said Andrew Strauss.

“Whilst we understand and respect Eoin and Alex's decision, we are disappointed that they have made themselves unavailable for selection for the Bangladesh tour.”


সিরাজুল আলম খান
১০ ঘণ্টা আগে|শ্রদ্ধাঞ্জলি

‘কাপালিক’ থেকে ‘দাদা ভাই’: রহস্যময় সিরাজুল আলম খান

তিনি ছিলেন স্বাধীন বাংলাদেশ গড়ে তোলার স্বপ্ন-সংগ্রাম ও স্বাধীনতা পরবর্তী রাজনৈতিক মেরুকরণের অন্যতম নিয়ামক শক্তি। তিনি যেভাবে চেয়েছেন, যা করতে চেয়েছেন, তাই করেননি—করিয়েছেন।