MP-elect Joya Sengupta sworn in
08:39 PM, April 16, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 08:48 PM, April 16, 2017

MP-elect Joya Sengupta sworn in

Joya Sengupta, newly elected Member of Parliament (MP) from Sunamganj-2 constituency, took oath today.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban, according to a release of the parliament secretariat issued this afternoon.

Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Mia, Chief Whip ASM Feroz, Whips M Atiur Rahman and Begum Mahbub Ara Gini, lawmakers SM Abul Kalam Azad and Pankaj Nath, were present at the programme among others, the release added.

Ruling Awami League candidate Joya Sengupta, wife of late veteran lawmaker Suranjit Sengupta, was elected in the by-election to Sunamganj-2 constituency held on March 30.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of Suranjit who passed away at a hospital in Dhaka on February 5 after a prolonged illness.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News