11th general election: PM, speaker submit nominations for Rangpur-6
12:00 AM, November 28, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:07 AM, November 28, 2018

Hasina files nominations for 2 seats

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina yesterday had her nomination papers submitted for Rangpur-6 and Gopalganj-3.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury filed nomination papers on the PM's behalf in Rangpur-6. Later, the Speaker filed her nomination papers in the same constituency.

The nominations were submitted to TMA Momen, assistant returning officer and also the Pirganj upazila nirbahi officer, around 12:15pm.

Talking to The Daily Star over the phone, the Speaker said, “The Awami League and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will decide who will contest the national election from the constituency.”

Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Administration Ministry HN Ashequr Rahman and Pirganj Upazila Chairman Nur Mohammad Mandal, Pirganj Municipality Mayor Tazimul Islam Shamim and acting president of Pirganj upazila Awami League Azizur Rahman Ranga, among others, were present during the submission of the nomination papers.

In Gopalganj, AL Religious Affairs Secretary Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah filed the PM's nomination papers with Returning Officer Mohammad Mokhlesur Rahman, also the deputy commissioner of Gopalganj.

AL advisory council member Akram Uddin Ahmed, former Red Crescent chairman Sheikh Kabir Hossain and PM's cousin Sheikh Helal Uddin, among others, were present.

In the last parliamentary polls, Hasina was elected from Rangpur-6 and Gopalganj-3. She later vacated Rangpur-6.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin was elected MP in a by-election to Rangpur-6.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News