UGC to honour 20 scholars today | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, December 27, 2007 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, December 27, 2007

UGC to honour 20 scholars today

The University Grants Commission (UGC) of Bangladesh will honour 20 scholars of different public and private universities in the country for their innovative researches in a ceremony today.
The scholars will receive the UGC Award 2002-2005 at a prize giving ceremony at UGC office at 3:30pm. Each winner will receive a certificate, a crest and Tk 20,000.
The UGC award covers six areas of research-- (1) arts, humanities, law and education, (2) social science, (3) physical and biological sciences, (4) agriculture science, (5) engineering and technology and (6) medical science.
No award will be given in medical science field, as qualitative research publication was not found, said UGC Member Prof Dr AHM Zehadul Karim who is also on charge of research field.
"A total of fifty-one research papers were submitted for last four years from 2002 to 2005. Based on the assessment of the 'Evaluation Committee', twenty-one paper were chosen unanimously for awards," said Zehadul Karim while addressing at a press conference yesterday.
"UGC has been conferring award since 1980. The commission had so far awarded 34 scholars in two different occasions in various fields from 1980 to 2001. The last award giving ceremony was held in April 2, 2003 where nine scholars were honoured for the period of 1992 to 2001. Before that 25 scholars were given awards for the years 1980 to 1991 on February 8, 1995," he also said while narrating history of the award.
Prof Dr Ayesha Begum, Salma Akhter, Prof Dr Md Anwar Hossain, Prof Dr M Bahadur Meah and Prof AS Md Abdul Haseeb were selected for the UGC Award-2002, Prof Monsur Musa, Dr Gour Gobinda Goswami, Prof Dr Md Shamsul Alam, Mohammad Abul Hasnat, Dr GM Tarekul Islam and Prof Dr MM Shahidul Hassan for UGC Award-2003, Dr M Tofazzal Islam, Prof Dr Md Samsul Alam and Prof Dr Md Saidur Rahman for UGC Award-2004 and Prof Dr Nurul Absar, Prof Dr MM Shahidul Hassan, Prof Dr Mohammad Asadullah, Dr Swarochish Sarker, Jamila Ahmed Chowdhury, Prof Dr Dilara Choudhury and Prof Dr Tajmeri SA Islam for UGC Award-2005.
Vice Chancellors of different public and private universities and Chairman of UGC will be present on the prize giving ceremony.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News