Records roll in the pool | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, February 07, 2010 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, February 07, 2010

11th South Asian Games 2010

Records roll in the pool

Indian swimmer Richa Mishra strokes her way to winning the women's 100m butterfly gold of the 11th South Asian Games at the National Swimming Complex in Mirpur yesterday. Photo: Amran Hossain

There was no exception on the second day of the 11th South Asian Games swimming competition as India maintained their supremacy at the National Swimming Complex in Mirpur yesterday.
Four records tumbled on the second day as two Indian natants set three new records while Sri Lankan Heshan Bandara Unamboowe, who like the previous day, again denied India's hundred per cent success by clinching the gold in the men's 100m backstroke with new Games record.
Indian Virdhawal Vikram Khade hogged the spotlight on the day by winning two gold medals in the men's 50m freestyle and 50m butterfly with new South Asian Games records.
It was a disappointing day for the local swimmers after an impressive first day when they won three silver and two bronze medals as they even failed to make any impression in the pool in front of a cheering crowd. The hosts could manage only three consolation bronze medals participating in five events of the day.
The focus was on Rubel Rana and Mahfizur Rahman but they were far away from the expectations.
Adaveeshiah Puttaveeraswamy Gagan Ullalmath set the tone for India on the day when he won the first gold in the men's 400m freestyle with a new record. He clocked 04:04.85sec to eclipse the previous best of 04:05.94 set by another Indian Rehan Poncha in the 2006 Colombo Games.
Mandar Divase followed his compatriot with 04:07.41sec and Pakistani Israr Hussain bagged the bronze clocking 04:24.85sec.
It was then turn for Khade to confirm the second gold for India with another SA Games record in the men's 50m freestyle. Khade finished with 00:23.73sec to break his compatriot Sebastian Xavier's 1995 Games record of 00:23.89sec.
India also got the silver as Aaron Agnel D'souza clocked 00:24.42sec while Bangladesh's Mahfizur secured bronze with a timing of 00:24.53sec.
India's national anthem continued to play as Richa Mishra won the gold in the women's 100m butterfly by clocking 01:05.74sec in the day's third event and she was followed by her teammate Vandita Dhariyal who finished with 01:08.40sec while Sri Lankan Miniruwani Shashiprabha Samarakoon bagged the bronze with a timing of 01:10.38sec.
Sri Lanka finally stopped the Indian march as Heshan Bandara won the men's 100m backstroke gold with the timing of 00:58.98sec which was much better than the previous best timing of his countryman Andrew Abeysinghe who had a timing of 01:00.11sec in the Colombo Games.
Indian Balakrishnan Melkote Badarinath offered a stiff challenge before finishing with 00:59.08sec to secure the silver and Bangladesh's Rubel Rana clocked 01:02.65 to finish third.
Khade reassured the Indian dominance by winning the last goal in the 50m butterfly with new record timing of 00:25.54 to better his own effort of 00:25.97sec in Colombo four years ago.
Indian Arjun Muralidharan clocked 00:26.15sec for silver and Bangladesh's Anik Islam bagged the bronze by clocking 00:26.61sec.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News