Top 7 footballers we say goodbye to in FIFA World Cup 2022

Top 7 footballers
Photo: Ashif Ahmed Rudro

The biggest names in world football will be eyeing the ultimate glory of winning the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar, but it will also be the last one for some of the legends of the game who have enthralled us with their timeless football skills, leaving a void that will be hard to fill. 

Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal

At 37 years of age, Ronaldo is at the twilight of his career. He has won numerous trophies at both the club level and as part of the national team, along with numerous personal accolades. Ever since his first World Cup in 2006, he has scored in each of the following tournaments. With age and bad form catching up to him, there are no doubts fans all around the world are waiting eagerly to see him perform at his best in his last World Cup. 

Lionel Messi, Argentina

Along with Ronaldo, Messi is also likely to play his last World Cup at this year's edition. At 35 years of age, he has given us moments that will most likely never be repeated in football. From the heartbreak of losing the 2014 World Cup final to finally winning Copa America with the Argentine national team, he will be hoping this time fate will not let him depart empty-handed.

Neymar, Brazil

Neymar on this list is quite a surprise, as he is 30 years old now and his chances of playing the next world cup are higher than other aged players. Yet, after factors like bad luck and injury in the 2014 World Cup, and then the extreme backlash he faced for a dismal performance in the 2018 World Cup, Neymar decided it is time to end his FIFA World Cup adventures, hopefully on a positive note! 

Manuel Neuer, Germany

The 2014 World Cup winning captain of the Germany team, and one of the greatest goalkeepers of modern football, the 36-year-old keeper will be playing with a German team that has been revamped in recent years, with a new manager and new players. Neuer will hope to have a great World Cup that will be a part of his legacy. 

Luka Modric, Croatia

When it comes to Modric, he is a prime example of how class is permanent. A mainstay of the title-winning teams of Real Madrid, and runners-up of the last World Cup with Croatia, we are certainly going to miss this magician of a midfielder dictating the play at his last World Cup. 

Luis Suarez, Uruguay

Suarez has a storied career in club football, winning numerous titles with Barcelona and Atletico Madrid. One of the best strikers in modern football without a doubt, this will be his last World Cup and we certainly hope he will not get infamous this time for his handball antics at the 2010 world cup, or how he bit an Italian player in the 2014 World Cup. 

Thiago Silva, Brazil

One of the mainstays of the Brazilian squad, Silva has won the Copa America for Brazil. With World Cup seeming the one tournament that Brazil has been facing disappointments ever since their 2002 win, it will be up to Silva to lead this Brazilian team to the ultimate glory and end his career on a high note.