SCBA election begins
11:21 AM, March 22, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:30 PM, March 22, 2017

SCBA election begins

Voting in the two-day annual election to Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) for its 14 executive posts, including that of president and secretary, began this morning.

Voters started to cast their vote at 10:00am and will continue till 5:00pm with one hour launch and prayer break. Voting will resume tomorrow in the same schedule.

Voters were seen queued up at the polling station to franchise their votes at the SCBA auditorium in Dhaka.

The result is likely to be announced tomorrow night, SCBA Superintended Nimesh Chandra Das said.

He said 5,081 lawyers have been listed to exercise their voting rights.

Awami League lawmaker and former law minister Abdul Matin Khasru, BNP leader and former SCBA President Zainul Abedin and Eunus Ali Akond are contesting for the post of president.

Former Bangladesh Chhatra League leader Robiul Alam Budu, incumbent SCBA secretary and former BNP lawmaker AM Mahbub Uddin Khokon, Ashoke Kumar Ghosh, and Abu Yahia Dulal are contesting for the post of secretary.

Related Topics

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News