Prevent Google from saving smartphone's location
11:04 AM, November 25, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 11:10 AM, November 25, 2018

Prevent Google from saving smartphone's location

Turning off the Location History feature on your Android smartphone will not prevent Google from knowing where you go and when.

Information on your location will continue to be collected, as Google discloses in the fine print of the Android terms of use. Turning off the feature only ensures that the data no longer gets added to your monthly Location History. But some location data will, for instance, still be saved if you use Google Maps.

However, there is a way to completely turn off the data collection on your Android device. Open the privacy menu in your Google account and then select "Activity controls". Here, you can choose to turn off the "Web & App Activity". Only then will the compiled location data no longer be saved.

These steps can be taken directly on your smartphone in the Google app or through an Internet browser after signing into your account.

Also under the privacy menu, users can select "My Activity" to see which data is created when they use Google services and delete data if they wish to do so.

Copyright: DPA/ The Star Online/ Asia News Network (ANN)

Related Topics

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222


Banglalink:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News

Top