Bangladesh Cricket: Murali, Kohli tons take India to 356 for 3 after day-1
09:32 AM, February 09, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 05:32 PM, February 09, 2017

Bangladesh tour of India, Only Test

Murali, Kohli tons take India to 356 for 3 after Day One

A professional batting display from India’s top order enabled them to score 356 for 3 against Bangladesh on the first day of the first Test at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad today.

After Murali Vijay’s 108, India skipper Virat Kohli joined the party with an imperious 111 off 141 balls. His unbeaten century contained 12 fours.

The unbroken fourth-wicket stand of 122 between Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane ensured that the Bangladesh bowlers would not get another breakthrough after Murali Vijay's departure in the final session. Rahane was batting on 45 from 60 at the end of play.

For Bangladesh, Taskin Ahmed, Taijul Islam and Mehedi Hasan picked up a wicket each.

Taskin looked impressive throughout his spells and could have picked up more wickets had he had the rub of the green today. He took the wicket of KL Rahul during his 16 overs, which went for 58 runs.

India reached 336 for 3 in 87 overs as Kohli celebrated the 16th Test century of his career during the last session.

Bangladesh spinner Taijul Islam sent back Mural Vijay for 108 to leave the hosts at 234 for 3. The 54-run partnership for the second-wicket was broken by Taijul when Vijay could not execute the lap sweep and missed the ball.

M Vijay b Taijul Islam 108 (160b 12x4 1x6) SR: 67.50

Indian batsmen Vijay and Kohli went into the dressing room with India at 206 for 2 at tea. Kohli was batting on 17 and Murali on 98 when the players left the field.

The only wicket that fell during the post-lunch session was that of Cheteshwar Pujara for 83. A 178-run partnership between Pujara and Vijay kept Bangladesh at bay during most of the session, before Pujara was sent back by Mehedi.

Pujara got a thick outside edge, and the ball struck the top flap of Mushfiqur’s pad and jumped up for the wicketkeeper to have a second grab.

CA Pujara c †Mushfiqur Rahim b Mehedi Hasan Miraz 83 (177b 9x4 0x6) SR: 46.89

Earlier, the partnership between Pujara and had taken India to a strong position during the post-lunch session.

Vijay reached his half century in the fourth over of the second session and with Pujara looked to get on top of the bowlers early. Pujara reached his fifty during the 34th over of the day.

India went into lunch at 86 for 1. Although Taskin Ahmed gave the Tigers an early breakthrough when he bowled KL Rahul for 2 with the fourth ball of the innings, Vijay and Pujara settled down at the crease and took their team to lunch.

KL Rahul b Taskin Ahmed 2 (4b 0x4 0x6) SR: 50.00

Watch the live English stream of the India vs Bangladesh One-off Test from Hyderabad on hotstar.

It is a big occasion for Mushfiqur and Bangladesh. This is the first time in 16 years as a Test nation that Bangladesh are playing a Test in India. Mushfiqur talked about sticking to the basics and did not want to get carried away.

“We have a lot to learn and playing against India will help us. The boys are very excited [to be] playing against the number one team. Hopefully we can show some character and match the Indian players,” he added.

Soumya Sarkar is set to continue opening in place of the injured Imrul Kayes and will partner Tamim Iqbal at the top. The usual suspects Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim and Sabbir Rahman are expected to follow.

The bowling department is expected to consist of Taijul, Mehedi, Kamrul and Taskin.

As for India, they are expected to see the return of Ajinkya Rahane in place of Karun Nair, the youngster who scored a triple-hundred in India's last Test against England in Chennai.

Three Tests have been played in this ground before with India winning twice and drawing once.

Bangladesh have played eight Tests against India so far. They have lost six and drawn two.


Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain, Wicketkeeper), Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed and Kamrul Islam Rabbi


M Vijay, KL Rahul, CA Pujara, V Kohli (Captain), AM Rahane, WP Saha (Wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, RA Jadeja, B Kumar, UT Yadav and I Sharma

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News