12:00 AM, December 21, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 08:21 AM, December 21, 2018

BNP, Jamaat planning to kill police officers

Claims Hasina; 88 retired police officials lend support to AL

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina yesterday said the BNP and Jamaat have worked out two plans ahead of the election -- killing police officers and wooing them through bribes.

"They've chalked out these two plans. There's a criminal in London who sends the plans," she said while addressing retired senior police officers at a function at the Gono Bhaban.

A total of 88 police officers raking from IGP to ASP extended their   support to the Awami League for the 11th national election slated for December 30.

Of the retired officers, 15 are ex-IGPs, one ex-officer of Police Services of Pakistan (PSP), 19 additional IGPs, 24 DIGs, 3 additional DIGs, 11 AIGs and SPs and 15 additional SPs.

Pointing at the BNP and Jamaat, Sheikh Hasina, also the AL president, said now they have a target to kill some senior police officials ahead of the election.

About the violence and arson attacks unleashed by BNP-Jamaat during the last national election, she said the killers and arson attackers burnt and beat up police members to death mercilessly.

She hoped that people would cast their vote for “boat” and her party would win. “So, we want a peaceful situation to prevail in the country…."

Without mentioning the names of Dr Kamal Hossain and other Oikyafront leaders, she criticised them for joining hands with the anti-liberation force.

"It's painful that they have now joined hands with the anti-liberation force and war criminals. It's very shameful."

Returning to power through the 2008 election victory, her government started developing the socioeconomic status of people.

Alongside the economic improvement, she said her government put the war criminals on trial and executed their sentence, though many could not imagine that it was possible.

At the beginning of the function PSP officer Mahbub Uddin Ahmed, Bir Bikram and four ex-IGPs, including AKM Shahidul Haque, on behalf of retired police officers, greeted the PM with a bouquet.

Former IGP AKM Shahidul Haque conducted the event.

The 15 former IGPs are AT Ahammedul Haque Chowdhury, Kutubur Rahman, Shamsher Alam, AKM Enayet Ullah Dewan, Abdur Rouf, Awlad Hossain Mia, Kazi Bazlur Rahman, Abul Kashem Hawlader, Abdul Hannan, Ruhul Amin, M Sanaul Haque, Nurul Anwar and AKM Shahidul Haq, Mominullah Patwari (ex-police officer and former secretary) and Mohammad Abdul Hannan Khan (coordinator with status of IGP).

The 19 former additional IGPs include Sarwar Hossain, Mohammad Abdus Sattar, Abdur Rahim Khan, Nurul Alam, Ali Imam Chowdhury, Fazlul Haque, Abdur Rahim, Khandakar Mozammel Haq, Golam Mostafa, Lutfor Rahman Mia, Matiur Rahman, Abdul Mannan, Abdul Mabud, Amulya Bhushan Barua, Nazmul Haque, Fatema Begum, Binoy Krinshna Bala, Nowsher Ali and Abu Hanif.

The 24 retired deputy IGPs include Dewan Habibullah, Shafiq Ullah, Khandakar Saheb Ali, Kazi Nazrul Islam, Mokhlesur Rahman, Shah Alam Sikder, PR Barua, Md Tofazzal Hossain, Waliur Rahman, Nibaran Kumar Chanda, Mostafa Zamal Uddin al Azad, Kazi Anwar Hossain, Altaf Hossain Mollah, Chowdhury Ahsanul Kabir, Sazzad Hossain, Mostaq Hossain Khan, Shafiqur Rahman, Moqbul Hossain Bhuiyan, Obaidullah, Muhammad Abdur Rahim, SM Mahfuzul Haq Nuruzzamn and Moniruzzaman.

The three former additional DIGs are Golam Kibria Bhuiyan, Syed Monirul Islam and Sattya Ranjan Baroi.

The 11 ex-AIGs and ex-SPs are Syed Bazlul Karim, Chowdhury AAG Kabir, Malik Khasru, Rahmat Jahan Sikder, Rafiqul Islam, Imamul Hossain Firoz, Khan Akramuzzaman, Abdul Khaleq, Mia Lutfor Rahman Chowdhury, Faruk Ahmed and Motiur Rahman.

The former 15 Additional SPs include Borhanuddin Chowdhury, Abdul Jalil Sheikh, Niyamat Ali, Khandakar Abdur Razzak, AKM Aminul Haque, Nur Ahmed, Khorshed Ali, Giasuddin, Golam Mostafa, Mir Nowsher Ali, Sirajul Islam, Awrangazeb Khan Lenin and Nur Mohammad.

Leave your comments