01:12 PM, December 09, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:52 PM, December 09, 2018

Aggrieved BNP men continue demo near Gulshan office

Supporters of the BNP leaders, who were not nominated, resumed their demonstration for the second consecutive day today in front of the party Chairperson Khaleda Zia’s Gulshan office in Dhaka.

Nearly 200 supporters of the failed BNP nomination seekers gathered in front of the Gulshan office around noon.

They were chanting slogans, demanding party tickets for their favourite leaders, reports our staff correspondent.

During the protest, supporters of BNP aspirants Sheikh Abdullah from Munshiganj-1 and Manjurul Ahsan Munshi from Cumilla-4 were seen staging demonstration in front of the party office, our Photo journalist reports from the spot this afternoon.

“We don’t accept illegal nomination, will not accept,” they were chanting slogans.        

Photo: Amran Hossain/Star


About a hundred supporters of BNP leaders ANM Ehsanul Haque Milon (Chandpur-1), Taimur Alam Khandaker (Narayanganj-1) and Selimuzzamn Selim (Gopalganj-1) gathered in front of Khaleda's office around 5:30pm yesterday and started chanting slogans denouncing BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir for “depriving” their favourites of nominations.

At one stage, they tried to break into the office and then hurled stones at its windows, witnesses said.

Fakhrul and BNP standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain and Nazrul Islam Khan and some other leaders were inside the office at the time.


Earlier on Friday, BNP announced the names of its contenders in 202 constituencies. It has left 53 seats for its partners in the 20-party alliance and the Jatiya Oikyafront for the polls.

It is now finalising its candidates for another 45 seats.


As per the revised polls schedule, the 11th parliamentary election will be held on December 30.

The Election Commission had fixed November 28 as the deadline for filing nomination papers, December 2 for scrutiny and December 9 last date of withdrawal.

Leave your comments