JCD votes to elect president, gen secy | The Daily Star
03:22 AM, September 19, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:22 AM, September 19, 2019

JCD votes to elect president, gen secy

The Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal after 27 years held polls for electing its president and general secretary last night.

The BNP’s student body organised the polls following a court injunction regarding its council.

The voting began at BNP standing committee member Mirza Abbas’ house around 8:40pm and continued until 12:30am. Several hundred JCD councillors from its 117 units across the country gathered there to vote.

A total of nine leaders ran for president and 19 for general secretary. At BNP’s Nayapaltan central office in the afternoon, the JCD councillors met Tarique Rahman on Skype and decided to hold the voting.

Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and M Ilias Ali were elected president and general secretary of JCD through direct voting in 1992.

The JCD council was scheduled for Sept 14, but a Dhaka court issued an injunction on it on September 12. On Tuesday, the JCD councillors made BNP acting chairman Tarique Rahman the organisation’s guardian.

The JCD’s last committee was formed on October 14, 2014, with Rajib Ahsan as its president and Akramul Hasan as general secretary, and it was dissolved on June 3.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News