BCB names 15-member squad for first T20I

Bangladesh openers walk out to bat during a match against New Zealand. File Photo: AFP

Bangladesh Cricket Board today announced a 15-member squad for the first Twenty20 International against New Zealand, which will be held at the McLean Park in Napier on January 3. 

The squad includes 12 of the players who were part of the three-match ODI series while including pacer Rubel Hossain, all-rounder Shuvagata Hom and left-arm spinner Taijul Islam. Injured wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim was not included with Nurul Hasan Sohan taking his place. Leg-spinner Tanbir Haider, who played the last two ODIs againt New Zealand, did not make into the squad for the first T20I.

11 members of the 20-member squad, which played the last T20 in the World Twenty20 in March, were included while nine of those 20 were not included.


Masrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarker, Shabbir Rahaman, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Mosaddek Hossain Saikot, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shuvagata Hom, Shubashis Roy, Taijul Islam, Nurul Hasan Sohan