Tigresses win Women's T20 Quadrangular | The Daily Star
06:48 PM, January 22, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 08:04 PM, January 22, 2020

Tigresses win Women's T20 Quadrangular

The Bangladesh women's cricket team emerged champions of the Women's T20 Quadrangular series with a 14-run win over India B in the final in Patna today. 

Sanjida Islam and Murshida Khatun, each scoring 34, set up the Tigresses' total of 117 for seven after skipper Salma Khatun chose to bat first at the toss. 

Then off-spinner Salma and pacer Jahanara Alam bowled economical spells, taking two wickets for 18 and two for 17 respectively, to restrict India B to 103 for eight after 20 overs. 

India A and Thailand were the two other teams in the quadrangular tournament. 

The Tigresses had lost just one match during their march to the final, when they were defeated by 14 runs by none other than India B on January 18. India B, meanwhile, had marched undefeated to the final, where Bangladesh avenged their league defeat by an identical margin to bag the trophy. 


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News