Myanmar genocide hearing: Who are the judges? | The Daily Star
01:23 PM, December 10, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:02 PM, December 10, 2019

Myanmar genocide hearing at ICJ: Who are the judges?

The 15-member International Court of Justice (ICJ) in The Hague is set to launch the case of Myanmar’s human rights violations against the Rohingyas.

The Gambia has filed the case with the top court of the United Nations, accusing Myanmar of committing genocide against its Rohingya Muslim minority, more than two years after some 750,000 Rohingyas fled a military crackdown in the Rakhine State.

The ICJ has Judge Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf of Somalia as its president and Judge Xue Hanqin of China as vice-president.

The other members of the court are:

Judge Peter Tomka of Slovakia

Judge Ronny Abraham of France

Judge Mohamed Bennouna of Morocco

Judge Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade of Brazil

Judge Joan E Donoghue of United States of America

Judge Giorgio Gaja of Italy

Judge Julia Sebutinde of Uganda

Judge Dalveer Bhandari of India

Judge Patrick Lipton Robinson of Jamaica

Judge James Richard Crawford of Australia

Judge Kirill Gevorgian of Russian Federation

Judge Nawaf Salam of Lebanon


Judge Yuji Iwasawa of Japan

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News