Literate to PhD holders in eight Tangail seats | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, December 27, 2008 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, December 27, 2008

Educational Level Of Candidates

Literate to PhD holders in eight Tangail seats

A total of 39 candidates, having different levels of educational qualifications including literate to PhD degrees, will contest for eight Jatiya Sangsad seats in Tangail district in the upcoming national election.
The candidates have mentioned their educational qualifications in the affidavits submitted with their nomination papers.
After examining the affidavits, it was gathered that seven out of the eight Awami League (AL)-led grand alliance nominees for the district have Masters and post-graduation degrees.
On the other hand, the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)-led four-party alliance has only one Masters degree holder out of its eight candidates in the district. The rest others have educational qualifications of graduation and below.
The AL-led grand alliance candidate for Tangail-1 (Modhupur-Dhanbari) constituency Dr Abdur Razzak Bhola received a PhD from a US University. The BNP-led four-party alliance candidate for the same constituency Fakir Mahbub Anam Swapan passed B.Sc. Krishak Sramik Janata League (KSJL) candidate Habibur Rahman Talukder Khoka Bir Protik passed HSC.
In Tangail-2 (Bhuapur-Gopalpur) constituency, grand alliance candidate Khandakar Asaduzzaman is an MA while four-party candidate Sultan Salahuddin Tuku passed Honours in Marketing from Dhaka University.
KSJL candidate Khaleda Habib has passed MA and B.Ed from DU.
In Tangail-3 (Ghatail) seat, four-party nominee former state minister Lutfar Rahman Khan Azad and KSJL candidate Abdul Kader Siddiqui Bir Uttam both have passed HSC. The Grand alliance candidate for the same constituency Dr Motiur Rahman Chowdhury has a PhD degree.
Bikalpadhara candidate Kazi Azimul Haque Bipul passed HSC, Islami Shashantantra Andolan (ISA) candidate Abdur Rashid has completed a course of Daoate Hadith and Khalilur Rahman of Jaker Party is literate.
In Tangail-1 (Kalihati), grand alliance candidate Abdul Latif Siddiqui has got an MA from DU while four-party nominee Lutfar Rahman Matin is a B.Sc degree holder. JSD candidate Ismail Hossain did not mention his educational qualification in the affidavit.
In Tangail-5 (Sadar), four-party nominee Maj Gen (retd) Mahmudul Hasan has a B.Sc in engineering while grand alliance candidate Abul Kashem passed B.Sc. KSJL candidate Murad Siddiqui passed BA, Jaker Party candidate Mahfuz Reza is a B.Sc and ISA candidate Abu Yousuf completed the course of Daoate Hadith.
In Tangail-6 (Nagarpur-Delduar), four-party candidate former minister Gautam Chakroborty is a LLB while grand alliance nominee Ahsanul Islam Titu has got an MBA degree from a US University.
In Tangail-7 (Mirzapur), grand alliance candidate Ekabbar Hossain has an MA in Social Science from DU while four-party nominee Abul Kalam Azad Siddiqui is a BA. KSJL candidate Shafiur Rahman Sunny passed HSC.
In Tangail-8 (Sakhipur-Basail), KSJL candidate Abdul Kader Siddiqui Bir Uttam passed HSC.
Grand alliance candidate Shawkat Momen Shajahan has got BA (Honours) degree while four-party candidate Ahmed Azam Khan has got MMS-LLB from DU.
Besides, JSD candidate Shafiul Alam is a MMS, LDP candidate Sheikh Faikuzzaman passed HSC and Biplobi Workers Party candidate Shahiduzzaman Lal Miah passed class VIII.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News