15 BNP candidates in Ctg, one for alliance | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, November 30, 2008 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, November 30, 2008

Election 2008

15 BNP candidates in Ctg, one for alliance

Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) finalised its nomination in 15 out of 16 constituencies under Chittagong district yesterday keeping one seat to share with the alliance.
The party chose its previous lawmakers in nine constituencies to vie the upcoming election while it changed candidates in five seats due to different reasons.
Four industrialists have got BNP tickets at four seats. They were Clipton Group Managing Director Professor Md Kamal Uddin Chowdhury in Chittagong-1 (Mirsarai), Aslam Chowdhury in Chittagong-3 (Sitakunda), BGMEA leader Ershad Ullah in Chittagong-7 (Boalkhali-Chandgaon) and Messers MEB Group Managing Director Shamsul Alam in Chittagong-8 (Kotwali-Bakalia) seat.
Kamal Uddin was chosen as previous lawmaker of the constituency MA Jinnah left the party earlier and joined LDP.
Sources said Ershad Ullah got chance in Chittagong-7 as M Morshed Khan, who won in the seat in last two elections, lost his eligibility to contest as he has been convicted in a graft case.
BNP Chandanaish upazila unit leader advocate Nizamul Hoque Chowdhury got nomination from Chittagong-13 (Chandanaish) where Col Oli Ahmad won from BNP in 2001 election. Oli as a grand alliance nominee is now contesting from his newly formed Liberal Democratic party (LDP).
Others who got the confirmation from BNP were Salahuddin Quader Chowdhury from Chittagong-2 (Fatikchhari) and Chittagong-6 (Rangunia), former whip Syed Wahidul Alam from Chittagong-4 (Hathazari), Gias Uddin Quader Chowdhury from Chittagong-5 (Raozan), former Livestock and Fisheries Minister Abdullah Al Noman from Chittagong-9 (Double Mooring-Pahartali), former Commerce Minister Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury from Chittagong-10 (Bandar-Patenga), Gazi Md Shahjahan Jewel from Chittagong-11 (Patiya), Sarwar Jamal Nizam in Chittagong-12 (Anwara), former state minister Jafrul Islam Chowdhury from Chittagong-15 (Banskhali) and Mostafa Kamal Pasha from Chittagong-16 (Sandwip).
Jamaat Chittagong city unit Ameer Shamsul Islam is seeking nomination from the four-party alliance in Chittagong-14 (Satkania-Lohagara) constituency, sources said.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News