Minu's acquittal enlivens Rajshahi BNP | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, November 20, 2008 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, November 20, 2008

Minu's acquittal enlivens Rajshahi BNP

He is now eligible to run in Rajshahi city, Minu's lawyer says

Mizanur Rahman Minu

With the news of Mizanur Rahman Minu's acquittal in extortion case allowing him to contest the parliamentary polls, BNP leaders and activists in all six constituencies in Rajshahi are now enlivened and have started calculating party nominations afresh.
As the High Court on Tuesday acquitted him in the case in which he was convicted for 13 years' jail, he has become eligible for taking part in election, said his lawyer Ankur Sen.
Minu will have to obtain bail in two other cases (among five others Minu is still facing) to come out of jail, Sen said.
BNP leaders said, Minu will fight from Rajshahi-2 (Rajshahi City Corporation) and his leadership would help unite party units on other constituencies.
They are also hopeful for winning the seat as his probable opponent Workers Party Politburo member Fazle Hossain Badsha is facing denial of local Awami League support.
BNP leaders were in despair in absence of its big-wigs following anti-corruption and anti-terrorism drives.
Rajshahi BNP president Azizur Rahman said they have started holding election preparatory meetings in different upazilas since the news of Minu's acquittal came.
“We are now waiting for our central committee's announcement for participating in the election”, he said.
Former BNP minister Barrister Aminul Haque and lawmaker Nadim Mostafa are still absconding being convicted in criminal and corruption cases while former BNP lawmaker Abu Hena is staying outside Rajshahi for long.
In Barrister Aminul's seat -- Rajshahi-1 (Tanore-Godagari) --, his brother former inspector general of police (IGP) Enamul Haque may contest in the election.
Rajshahi city BNP's former president Eklak Hossain and Jatiyatabadi Krishak Dal general Secretary Habibur Rahman Hasibul is also seeking BNP nomination from the seat.
BNP's central office secretary Rizvi Ahmed is seeking nomination from the newly formed Rajshahi-3 (Paba-Mohonpur) seat.
District Chhatra Dal president Raihanul Haque and former Rajshahi city Chhatra Dal president Shafikul Islam Milon are also listed there.
In Rajshahi-4 (Bagmara), none other than Bagmara upazila BNP president and former lawmaker Abdul Gafur was listed as probable candidate.
In Rajshahi-5 (Puthia-Durgapur), in Nadim Mostafa's absence, Abdus Sattar Mondol is seeking nomination. Central Jubo Dal vice- president Matiur Rahman Mantu, central Chhatra Dal leader Abu Bakar Siddik and Mahmuda Habiba were named for alliance ticket.
Rajshahi-6 (Bagha-Charghat) was the seat of Kabir Hossain. Rajshahi district BNP president Azizur Rahman is seeking nomination from the seat.
Kabir loyalists said, dropping the name Kabir has widened the rivalry among party leaders.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News