Anannya honours 10 women
04:04 PM, May 06, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:14 PM, May 06, 2017

Anannya honours 10 women

Fortnightly magazine Anannya this afternoon honoured 10 women with the "Anannya Shirshodosh 2016" awards for their contribution to different sectors in the country last year.

Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury handed over the awards as chief guest at a ceremony held at Krishibid Institution in Dhaka.

Narayanganj City Corporation Mayor Selina Hayat Ivy got the award in politics category, Central Women's University Vice-Chancellor Dr Perween Hasan in education, Bangladesh National Women Football Team forward Sabina Khatun in sports, and a jockey from a remote village of Naogaon, Tasmina Aktar in bravery.

Dhaka University Professor Zeba Islam Seraj received the award in scientific research, Women with Disabilities Development Foundation Executive Director Ashrafun Nahar Misti in disability right activism, Actress Saberi Alam in acting, a craftsman of Magura, Nisha Rani Malakar in artistry, Researcher Surma Zahid in Liberation War research, and founder of a Joypurhat-based indigenous women and children organisation Bashonti Murmu in indigenous right activism.

Poet Kazi Rozi, also a lawmaker, noted researcher Prof Rounaq Jahan, and Anannya magazine editor and publisher Tasmima Hossain, were present at the ceremony.

The Anannya authorities have has been giving the awards since 1993 to promote women’s contribution to the society.

Related Topics

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News