Thakurgaon dist AL’s council today | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, December 06, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:58 AM, December 06, 2019

Thakurgaon dist AL’s council today

A faction alleges ‘manipulation’ by anti-Liberation elements

The district unit Awami League (AL) will hold its council today.

The council, being held after about five years instead of stipulated three years, has failed to draw much enthusiasm among the stakeholders, said several activists and observers.

AL Presidium Member Ramesh Chandra Sen, also lawmaker of Thakurgaon-1 constituency, will inaugurate the council at Zila Parishad Auditorium in the town, where AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader will attend as chief guest.

District unit’s incumbent President Dabirul Islam, also lawmaker of Thakurgaon-2 constituency, and incumbent General Secretary Sadek Quraishi have announced their candidature for the district president post while existing Joint Secretary Dipak Kumar Roy is the only candidate for general secretary post.

A total of 280 councillors will attend today’s programme, said Mostafizur Rahman Ripon, district unit’s publicity and publications secretary.

Seeking anonymity, several district AL leaders said after declaration of Quraishi-Dipak panel for the council, Ramesh Chandra Sen asked the other candidates not to vie for the posts.  

They alleged that the Ramesh-Quraishi group arranged setting their followers as councillors in most cases through influencing the ward, union and upazila level councils.  

“The presidium member and his followers are now busy to form a pocket committee, depriving the dedicated party activists,” said Advocate Abu Zafar Shamsuddin, former president of AL’s Sadar upazila unit.

He alleged that people from families of Razakars (collaborators of Pakistan occupation army during the 1971 Liberation War) are playing important role in the policymaking of Ramesh-Quraishi group.

Denying the allegation, Ramesh Chandra Sen said, “Awami League believes in democratic practice. Everyone can vie for any post and councillors will elect the leadership.”    

Contacted, Dabirul Islam said, “Ramesh Chandra Sen and Sadek Quraishi suspended councils of Baliadangi and Haripur upazila units as the areas are under my constituency (Thakurgaon-2). This was done with the aim of making a pocket committee.”  

“I expect party chief Sheikh Hasina to interfere and give a decision which would restore the party’s image in its stronghold,” he said. 

AL Joint Secretary Advocate Jahangir Kabir Nanak will be present as main speaker at today’s council with Dabirul Islam in the chair.   

Central AL’s Organising Secretary BM Mozammel Haque, Organising Secretary Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury MP, Finance and Planning Affairs Secretary Tipu Munshi, and International Affairs Secretary Dr Shammi Ahmed have been invited to attend the programme as special guests. 

The last council of Thakurgaon district AL was held on October 16 in 2014.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News