Polls in 6 union parishads going on peacefully | The Daily Star
11:04 AM, July 25, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 10:52 PM, July 25, 2019

AL aspirant Rafiqul wins Kanchan municipality race

Awami League-backed candidate Rafiqul Islam has won the mayoral race in the Narayanganj’s Kanchan municipality election today.

Rafiqul Islam bagged 16, 282 votes while his nearest contestant independent candidate Dewan Abul Bashar got 6,947 votes in the elections, Mahbubur Rahman, assistant returning officer, told The Daily Star.

A total of 26,612 votes out of 35,680 were cast in the polls that started around 9:00am and continued till 5:00pm, Mamtaz Begum, Rupganj Upazila Nirbahi Officer (UNO) told our Narayanganj correspondent.

Voting ended peacefully and no untoward incidents took place during the voting, our correspondent reports from the spot.

The Election Commission deployed additional law enforcers and magistrates -- both executive and judicial -- in the areas to avert any untoward incident.

On the other hand, polls in six union parishads of five districts were also held today.

The six union parishads are: Kuti union of Kasba upazila in Brahmanbaria; Faridganj Dakkhin union of Faridganj upazila in Chandpur; Puthia and Jeopara unions of Puthia upazila in Rajshahi; Sirta union of Mymensingh Sadar; and Amtali union of Amtali upazila in Barguna.


Related Topics

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News