JP names candidates | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, June 10, 2021 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:45 AM, June 10, 2021

By-polls in 3 Constituencies

JP names candidates

Jatiya Party yesterday finalized its candidates for the by-elections to three parliamentary constituencies -- Sylhet-3, Dhaka-14 and Cumilla-5 -- scheduled to be held on July 14.

The candidates are Atikur Rahman Atik (Sylhet-3), Mostakur Rahman Mostak (Dhaka-14) and Jashim Uddin (Cumilla-5). 

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

The JP selection board finalised the candidates at a meeting held at the party's chairman GM Quader's office at the capital's Banani.

Earlier, the party strongly opposed the Election Commission's decision of holding the by-polls on July 14 as it coincided with the death anniversary of its founder and late president HM Ershad.

Ruling Awami League is yet to announce its candidates for the by-polls.

BNP standing committee has decided not to take part in the elections, citing possible vote rigging and irregularities.

According to the EC polls schedule, the last day for submission of nomination papers is June 15, selection of nomination papers is on June 16, the last day for withdrawal is June 23 and symbols will be allotted on June 24.

Sylhet-3 seat fell vacant following ruling Awami League MP Mahmud Us Samad Chowdhury's death on March 11, Dhaka-14 following AL MP Aslamul Hoque's death on April 4, and Cumilla-5 after AL MP Abdul Matin Khasru's death on April 14.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News