BNP serves politicians Tk 30 meal at iftar party | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, May 29, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:38 AM, May 29, 2019

BNP serves politicians Tk 30 meal at iftar party

BNP yesterday provided political party leaders with Tk 30 iftar package each, an amount allocated for its jailed Chairperson Khaleda Zia.

BNP hosted the iftar party in honour of politicians at Ladies Club in the city, participated by around 2,000 leaders and activists of Jatiya Oikyafront, the 20-party alliance and other professionals of various other fields.

Though the party invited senior leaders of the ruling Awami League, none of them turned up at the event.

Convener of Jatiya Oikyafront Dr Kamal Hossain was not present at the event either.

The iftar items included two dates, one jilapi, one beguni, one piaju, some cooked grams and puffed rice and a small bottle of water.

In a brief address prior to the iftar, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir said they arranged the iftar with a heavy heart, since their chairperson has been kept in jail in “false” cases.

“While we have gathered here, she’s [Khaleda Zia] also waiting to have iftar in a tiny room of PG Hospital [Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University]. The government provides Tk 30 for her iftar. That is why we have decided to spend the same amount of money per person on our iftar, as a sign of our solidarity,” he said.

The BNP leader urged the guests to take the matter as a mark of respect for Khaleda.

He also urged them to pray for the wellbeing of Khaleda Zia, arrested BNP leaders and activists as well as their family members.

Fakhrul said the current government has established a “dictatorship” in the country by destroying democracy, democratic institutions and basic pillars of the state.

“We’re headed towards a terrible consequence. Let’s pray to the Almighty so that He saves us from it,” he added.

Gonoforum executive presidents Prof Abu Sayeed, Subrata Chowdhury; its former general secretary Mostafa Mohsin Montu; Nagorik Oikya convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna; JSD general secretary Abdul Malek Ratan; Jamaat leaders Dr Shafiqur Rahman, Hamidur Rahman Azad, Abdul Halim, Selimuddin; Jatiya Party (Zafar) president Mostafa Jamal Haider; Khelafat Majlish chief Prof Mohammad Ishaq; Kalyan Party chief Syed Mohammed Ibrahim; NPP chairman Fariduzzaman Farhad; Muslim League leader AHM Kamruzzaman; Labour Party chairman Mostafizur Rahman Iran; Gonoshasthaya Kendra founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury; BNP standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar, Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan and Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury, among others, joined the event.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News