Dhaka New mayors, councillors took oath | The Daily Star
12:23 PM, February 27, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:05 PM, February 27, 2020

New Dhaka mayors, councillors sworn in

The newly-elected mayors and councillors of Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) and Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) took oath for office this morning.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina administered the oath to DNCC and DSCC mayors-elect Atiqul Islam and Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh respectively at a function at the Shapla Hall of the Prime Minister's Office.

Later, LGRD and Cooperatives Minister Md Tazul Islam administered oath to the councillors elected from both general wards and reserved seats.

However, the newly-elected mayors and councillors will have to wait until mid-May to take over charge as the five-year tenure of the incumbent public representatives of DSCC will expire on May 17 while that of DNCC on May 13.

Elections to the DNCC and DSCC were held on February 1. Awami League candidates Atiqul and Taposh won the mayoral posts.

Alongside the two elected mayors, 100 councillors - 75 general councillors from 75 wards and 25 women councillors from 25 reserved seats - were elected in DSCC and 72 councillors - 54 general from as many wards and 18 women councillors from 18 reserved seats - in DNCC.

A gazette notification was issued on February 4. There is a legal obligation for any mayor or councillor of the city corporation to take oath within one month after the gazette is published.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News