Chattogram City Corporation: A lifeline of the country's economy | The Daily Star
04:44 PM, January 26, 2021 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:52 PM, January 26, 2021

Chattogram City Corporation: A lifeline of the country's economy

Chattogram City Corporation, considered to be a lifeline of the country's economy also happens to be the third largest among 12 city corporations in the country in terms of voters. Dubbed as the commercial capital of Bangladesh, the port city has more than 19 lakh voters.

The CCC derived its name from the Chittagong Municipality which was founded on June 22, 1863.

Awami League nominated Rezaul Karim Chowdhury and his arch rival BNP's Shahadat Hossain is contesting in tomorrow's CCC election.

Whoever wins the battle of CCC election, the port city will get a new mayor and guardian for their city.

The initial area of newly formed municipality was only 6 sq miles, according to CCC's website. There were five wards -- A, B, C, D and E. J D Ward was the first appointed administrator.

Khan Bahadur Abdus Sattar was the first elected chairman of Chittagong Municipality. Late Nur Ahmed was the most significant chairman in the life of municipality who introduced the important education system under municipal supervision. He governed the organisation for 30 years.

On June 27, 1977, Chittagong Municipality was renamed as Chittagong Paura-Shava and Late Fazal Karim became the first elected chairman of Paura-Shava.

On September 16, 1982, the Paura-Shava was upgraded to Municipal Corporation and Brigadier Mofizur Rahman Chowdhury was appointed as the administrator while late Fazal Karim became the sub-administrator.

On July 31, 1990 it was renamed as Chittagong City Corporation and government appointed Mahmudul Islam Chowdhury as its mayor.

Later Mir Mohammed Nasiruddin ascended as Mayor and continued until the first election in 1994.

ABM Mohiuddin Chowdhury became the first democratically elected Mayor in the history of Chittagong City Corporation.

M Manjur Alam was elected as Mayor in the city corporation election held in 2010.

AJM Nasir Uddin was elected in the last city corporation election held in April 28, 2015.

Mohammed Khorshed Alam Sujon has been appointed as the administrator of the city corporation on August 6, 2020. Currently the city corporation area is divided into 41 wards.


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News