Affiliation with 7 colleges: Dhaka University students continue demo
03:07 PM, July 23, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:42 PM, July 23, 2019

Affiliation with 7 colleges: DU students continue demo for 3rd day

Students of Dhaka University (DU) are continuing their demonstration on the campus for the third consecutive day today, demanding cancellation of affiliation of the capital’s seven colleges with the university.

Padlocking administrative and academic buildings at the DU, the demonstrators also continued to boycott all classes and examinations, reports our campus correspondent.

The demonstrators said they will continue their demo until the authorities take steps to fulfil their demand.

On July 17, the students blocked the Shahbagh intersection for two hours, to press home their four-point demand including cancellation of the university affiliation with the seven colleges.

Later on July 21, they announced to continue their movement as the authorities have not given assurance of scrapping the affiliation.

On February 17, 2017, the government affiliated Dhaka College, Eden Mohila College, Government Shaheed Suhrawardy College, Kabi Nazrul Government College, Begum Badrunnesa Government Mohila College, Mirpur Government Bangla College and Government Titumir College with Dhaka University.

Under the arrangement, their curriculum was brought under DU.

Besides, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on July 9 directed the education ministry to return affiliation of the government colleges to their nearest public universities.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News