12:00 AM, January 01, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 11:00 AM, January 01, 2019

Turnout 100pc!

A polling centre in Dhunat upazila in Bogura-5 constituency was one of the centres to record a 100 percent voter turnout, which is generally considered to be a rarity. 

None of the voters -- from the young to the aged -- missed the opportunity to cast their vote in Sunday's election in the centre at Chikashi High School.

Of the total 2,310 votes, Awami League-led grand alliance candidate Habibur Rahman bagged 2,072 while BNP candidate Golam Mohammed Siraj and the two remaining candidates got 108 and one vote each respectively.

A total of 128 votes were cancelled, according to the centre-wise result sheet.

Chikashi High School, however, was not the lone centre to achieve this feat.

Ganeshpur Government Primary School centre in Shibganj upazila of Bogura-2 constituency is another example where all 2,290 votes were cast.

Jatiya Party candidate Shariful Islam got 1,136 votes. His main contender Mahmudur Rahman Manna, a candidate of Jatiya Oikyafront secured only 905.

A total of 214 votes were cancelled.

Shyampur Government Primary School in upazila of Bogura-1 also saw a hundred percent voter turnout. All 2,383 votes were cast and AL candidate Abdul Manna alone got 2,185 votes. BNP candidate Kazi Rafiqul Islam got 79 votes, shows centre-wise result sheet.

However, at the centre at Uttar Bhitabariya Government Primary School, a polling station in Pirojpur-2, a different sort of voter turnout story unfolded.

The centre stood out among all others as being the only one where all the voters cast for their votes for only one candidate -- AL nominee Anwar Hossain Manju.

In this centre, 1,155 voters cast their ballot for Manju, which left his main challenger BNP-led alliance candidate Muhammad Mustafizur Rahman Iran with no vote. The remaining three candidates also could not manage a single vote.

A total of 1,164 votes were cast in this polling centre at Uttar Bhitabariya area in Bhandaria upazila. Of the total, nine votes were rejected.

In Telikhali union of the upazila, there were eight polling centres where a total of 14,406 out of 15,765 voters cast their votes.

Interestingly, only one person voted for the BNP candidate.

In this constituency, Anwar Hossain Manju, now a minister, got 1,79,498 votes while Mustafizur Rahman Iran, chairman of the Labour Party, secured only 6,310 votes.

In the 2008 parliamentary polls, the AL candidate got over 1.28 lakh votes and his opponent BNP candidate obtained 59,428 votes.

A similar picture was also seen in Natore-3 constituency.

BNP candidate Daudar Mahmud did not get a single vote in eight polling stations. He got less than 10 votes in 22 out of 118 centres.

The results of Sunday's polls show that AL candidate Zunaid Ahmed Palak, also a state minister, bagged 2.30 lakh votes while Daudar got 8,841 votes.

In the 2008 polls, Palak got 1.27 lakh votes and BNP candidate Kazi Golam Morshed managed 78,043 votes.

In Rajshahi-4 constituency, BNP candidate Abu Hena, who twice became the lawmaker, got no vote in Sunday's polls in two centres in Bagmara upazila.

One of the centres is Jamgram Government Primary School which witnessed 94.58 percent of the votes cast.

Among the 1,816 valid votes, AL candidate Enamul Haque obtained 1,813 votes while Abu Hena did not get any vote. Two other candidates gathered the remaining three votes.

Hena did not secure any vote in Boilshingha School and College vote centre.

Of the 2,101 votes, AL candidate Enamul Haque got 2,080 votes.

Abu Hena got less than 10 votes at ten centres in the constituency.

When asked why BNP and its alliance got only few votes in some constituencies, Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda said it was a reflection of people exercising their franchise.

"They got as many votes as the people who voted for them,” he said.

Leave your comments